Lineage Stories: Carol Wilson, Neesha Patel

Session description coming soon

April 10, 2025

4:30 pm to 6:30 pm Pacific
5:30 pm to 7:30 pm Mountain/Saskatchewan
6:30 pm to 8:30 pm Central
7:30 pm to 9:30 pm Eastern
Check your time zone here


Carol Wilson first began practicing Vipassana or Insight meditation in 1971, with S.N. Goenka, in Bodh Gaya, India. Since then she has studied and practiced with a number of Theravada teachers, both Asian and Western. She has been particularly influenced by the teachings and practice styles of Sayadaw U Pandita, and in the past ten years, of Ashin U Tejaniya. In the 1980s she spent a year in Thailand as a Buddhist nun, which she continues to appreciate as an immensely valuable and inspiring experience. Carol has been sharing vipassana and metta retreat teachings since 1986, both in the United States and abroad. She feels a strong commitment to supporting the conditions for long intensive retreats to take place, and for many years she has been teaching the three-month retreat at Insight Meditation Society as well as a month long retreat at Spirit Rock Meditation Center. She is an IMS Core Guiding Teacher.

Neesha Patel is inspired by the call to awakening. She is deeply grateful for the Buddha’s teachings and for the opportunity to learn and practice dhamma in both Asia and the US. She loves both intensive longer retreat practice as well as daily life practice. Her practice has been influenced by many wonderful teachers and she teaches primarily in the lineage of Sayadaw U Tejaniya and Ajahn Chah. Neesha is a graduate of the Insight Meditation Society’s Teacher Training Program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *